The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper Cover Image
$24.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This is a charming book which will make you think about your own life and how to change mundane routines into adventures and open doors to new experiences.  I found this story heart-warming, as well as quirky.  We all need to find a hidden memory which will make our way of thinking change for the better.  A fun read!

— Dianne

June 2016 Indie Next List


“Arthur Pepper has finally gotten around to cleaning out his deceased wife's clothes when he comes across her charm bracelet. He doesn't remember seeing it before, and the charms pique his curiosity about the life his wife led before they met. Thus begins an adventure that will have Arthur learning to embrace life more fully and becoming more present in the lives of those he cares about. Grab a seat and get lost in this charming read with characters you will cheer on, laugh with, and perhaps shed a tear for.”
— Lisa Fabiano (E), An Unlikely Story, Plainville, MA

Description


"Phaedra Patrick understands the soul. Eccentric, charming, and wise...The Curious Charms is not just for those who are mourning over love or the past. This book will illuminate your heart." -- Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

Don't miss this curiously charming debut In this hauntingly beautiful story of love, loneliness and self-discovery, an endearing widower embarks on a life-changing adventure.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden.

But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam's death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam's possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he's never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife's secret life before they met--a journey that leads him to find hope, healing and self-discovery in the most unexpected places.

Featuring an unforgettable cast of characters with big hearts and irresistible flaws, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a joyous celebration of life's infinite possibilities.

More Praise:
"Tender, insightful, and surprising... Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain's The Red Notebook." -- Library Journal, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780778319337
ISBN-10: 0778319334
Publisher: Mira Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 336
Language: English