Edge of Extinction #1: The Ark Plan (Paperback)

Edge of Extinction #1: The Ark Plan Cover Image
By Laura Martin, Eric Deschamps (Illustrator)
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Jun 26 12:45am
(Children Novel)

Description


Jurassic World meets Dawn of the Planet of the Apes in this epic new middle grade series full of heart-pounding action and breathtaking chills! "Amazing adventures!" raves Brightly.com as they recommend Edge of Extinction as a Holiday Gift for Tween Readers. 

One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. . . .

Five years ago, Sky Mundy’s father vanished from North Compound without a trace. Now she has just stumbled on a clue that not only suggests his disappearance is just the tip of an even larger mystery, but also points directly to the surface. To find her dad—and possibly even save the world—Sky and her best friend, Shawn, must break out of their underground home and venture topside to a land reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs.

Perfect for fans of Brandon Mull, Lisa McMann, and Rick Riordan, this exhilarating debut novel follows two courageous friends who must survive in a lost world that’s as dangerous as they’ve always feared but also unlike anything they could ever have imagined.

About the Author


Laura Martin is a mom by day and a middle grade author by night, although in her heart she will always be a seventh-grade language arts teacher. After spending six years teaching the fine art of dream chasing as a teacher, she is enjoying every minute of this lifelong dream of being an author. She lives in the Indianapolis area with her family. You can connect with her on Instagram @LauraMartinBooks or at www.lauramartinbooks.com.

Praise For…


“In this clever take on Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park, the tale is reimagined on a worldwide scale. Nonstop action, marauding dinosaurs, and kids on the run: What’s not to like? This is a great buy for the sci-fi adventure-loving crowd.”
— School Library Journal

“This gripping survival adventure offers readers a potent mix of creative setting, edge-of-your-seat plotting, and admirable heroes. The world building is particularly strong, balancing the campy, the terrifying, and the dystopian. Perfect for readers who have carried their love of dinosaurs into middle school.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“As a budding Katniss Everdeen—tough, stubborn, resilient, and though new to the bow a quick enough learner by the end to put an arrow through the eye of a ravening spinosaurus—Sky makes a promising protagonist.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Martin takes the premise of Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park a step further. A harrowing journey filled with danger, dinosaurs, and surprises. A cliff-hanger ending ensures readers will eagerly await the next installment of this exciting new sci-fi series.”
— ALA Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062416230
ISBN-10: 0062416235
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Edge of Extinction